An Interview with me

Hi Everyone!

So this seems a little kooky, but Grace the main character of my novel Winging It!, wants to interview me.  If you’ve been following along with the series you know she can be a real PIA, but I’ve agreed to go along, because…well…she probably won’t leave me alone if I don’t.

Before we get started, here’s a little description of the book:

Ever decided to do something that seemed like a good idea and in the second before there’s no turning back think, I musta been totally mental when I came up with this? And, then, Oh, well, here goes.

That’s how Angel-In-Training Grace Lightbourne felt right before she asked the Big Kahuna to go straight to Earth on a mission as a Guardian Angel. The problem? She never was a great student and now she won’t even finish her last three years of school. To make matters worse, Archangel Michael isn’t happy about her special assignment, but Grace is convinced she’s on a fast track to her wings. How hard can it be? She’s working with humans, after all.

Winging It!, the first book in the Angel-in-Training series, is an irreverent, light hearted take on Angels, Heaven and everything else that’s divine.

Ready, Grace?

Hey! That’s a picture of me on the cover.

Yes?

I was having a good hair day dontcha think?

Yeeess.

Okay, right, so I guess we ought to start.

Probably a good idea.

So Shel, you have two books—one starring moi—which means your Muse is hard at work.  What is she helping you on at the moment?

I’m finishing up a book which isn’t titled yet, but might be called My Wishful Thinking about two best friends who end up sharing a geeky genie. After that’s done, I’ll be jumping back into the second book about you and working through some of the gnarly pieces.

Don’t you think it would be better to work on the book about me now? 

 I really don’t, because the genie book is so close to complete and after it’s done you can have my full attention.

 If you say so.  I’m curious, especially since I’m one of your characters, which one are you most like? *whispers behind cupped hand*and please don’t say that whiny artist in Dolphin Girl.

 I heard that, and Jane is not that whiny.  But, to answer your question, there’s a little bit of me in all the characters. Even you, I’m afraid.

  But who are you most like?

 Hmm…probably Aisha. She was your GA, after all.

 Really? She makes me crazy, but, I guess I like her all right. 

 That’s good because she’s going to be your roomie in the next book.

 Oh, God!!  Nooooooo!

 Yep.  What’s your next question?

 Can we talk about changing the Aisha thing?

 *silence*

 Fine. You came up with this next question, so don’t act like you didn’t. What’s your favorite book of all time.

 I love lots of books, but my absolute favorite is To Kill A Mockingbird. I’ve read and re-read and re-read and only love it more each time.

You know that was one of Sibel Hodge’s favorites.  Now let’s talk swoony-worthy guys.  What in your opinion makes a guy swoon-worthy? And specifically how did you come up with Victor for me?

Well emotionally, I love a little verbal banter and a sense of humor is great. Physically, I have to get a picture of the character in mind and for you I used this picture of William Levy.  This was a couple years before his Dancing with the Stars fame, but I knew I had the right look when one of my critique partners said, “Now that’s a Victor I can get on board with.”

That does look a lot like Victor. Thanks for that!

Haha! No problem.

*Ahem* Maybe we should get back to the interview.  If you could go to a rock concert in Heaven, who would you go see?

I wouldn’t want to miss any concerts because I love music, especially rock, but if I had to pick one it’d be George Harrison. It’d be something to see Give Me Love in Heaven.

Wow, I really expected you to pick something with a harder sound.

 Well, Jimi would be awesome, too.

Gonna change topics on you.  It’s *drum roll* Confession Time. What’s your biggest writing sin?

I think you’ve already told everyone it’s procrastination, remember? We’ve got the support group going and I’m working on it.  But today, for example, I’m doing this interview with you instead of working the genie story.

*huffs* Don’t blame me. We’re almost done, and then you can get back to that other book.

 Next question: Are you more of a rule follower or a rebel?

Rebel with a cause.

Why?

I’m okay with bending or breaking any rules as long as there’s an excellent reason for doing it.

 Hmmm…so is that one of the ways you’re like me?

 Abso-freakin-lutely!

 So, what inspires you to bend or break rules?

 Love.

 Huh?

 I can’t think of any situation or rule that isn’t trumped by love. And I hope that’s what inspires my writing, too.

 Aww….that’s so true. I hope it inspires you, too. So, what message do you want readers to take from your books?

 This is really the hardest question you’ve asked me!  I’ll try to explain using my *other* book, Dolphin Girl, okay?

 *huffs* Fine.

 Dolphin Girl is about being true to yourself and being happy with that. It’s about losing any expectations of perfection. It’s about empathy and forgiveness. That’s a lot of themes flying around.  Whenever I think about my readers, I don’t think I want them to “get” this.  Instead, I think I hope this book makes it to readers who can find something useful in it.

Oh. Makes sense to me.   

 Okay, last question. Is there anything you’d like me to mention to your Guardian Angel? ‘Cause I totally have contacts.

I know you do!  Please let her know how grateful I am for everything. And…um…if she could help me figure out the housekeeping thing, that’d be great!

 Will do and—ssh—you have to promise not to tell, but I heard there’s some help on that coming soon.

 Hey there!  Shel’s book Winging It! features me and that Victor guy up above. So, you should probably check it out here:

  Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Winging-Angel-Training-1-ebook/dp/B007K9YV0Y/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337268250&sr=1-1

 And follow her on the web:  

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/sheldelisle

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/#!/ShelDelisle

 Or sign up for her mailing list, which will only go out once or twice a year, because she does procrastinate.  She’ll let you know what’s going on with her books, like the new one with me. 

Mailing list:  http://eepurl.com/j29Vv

 Thanks, Grace.  Especially for the mailing list plug.

Have a great weekend, all!  See you soon.

May 18, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . author interviews.

9 Comments

  1. Kristina Miranda replied:

    I love this interview! It’s my favorite of all! Especially the idea that love trumps everything, because nothing is truer! Great interview, Grace! : )

  2. Dalya Moon replied:

    I KNOW love inspires your writing. Look at all the hearts in your background! Those didn’t get there by accident.🙂

    • s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

      And I was considering changing the look of the site…hmmm

      • Dalya Moon replied:

        If you’ve got new ideas, I say go for it! I’m sure a new design will be just as fun.

        p.s. Thanks for your comment on my site.🙂

  3. Jessica replied:

    As a fan of William Levy’s telenovela’ (I’m Puerto Rican and my grandma lives for novelas.) I have to admit I pictured William levy during your description of Victor. So what a coincidence that that’s the look you were going for.

    • s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

      Oh! That means my psychic story transmittal skills are working. Either that or we both just like William Levy. ;D

  4. Jessica replied:

    I also tremendously enjoyed the book and look forward to the sequel.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

