An Interview with Brina Courtney

Hello!

Today I’m excited to have YA author Brina Courtney on the blog.  Her Cryptid Tales are a blend of sci-fi, paranormal and a little romance, too. Before I turn her over to Grace, here’s a little bit about the first book in the series, Reveal.

Shay Tafford’s childhood has been fatherless, filled instead with memories of speaking to those who have passed on. She does this while hiding her unique ability from those living around her. She can’t tell her best friend, or her brother, and she definitely can’t confide in her psychologist mother for fear of her mom locking her up.That’s why it’s been comforting to have Jeremy, a seventy year old child ghost, as her confidante. But recently he’s been absent, perhaps lost as her father is.  When Shay meets Hugh, the boy she’s had a crush on for weeks, and finds he can speak to ghosts too she’s just starting to find a normalcy in her life. But as Hugh reveals the truth to Shay, about who she really is and about what it is she can do, he erases all chances she had at a normal existence.  Turns out talking to ghosts is just scratching the surface of her genetically engineered gifts. Shay learns she may be part of an age old prophecy that could save an entire race of beings. But can she?

Now there is the threat of an attack from a dark force with unlimited power and she must decide if she accepts her fate as a part of the prophecy.  Can Shay and Hugh defeat this evil and save the people they love, before they too are lost forever?

Okay, Grace, take it away.

Wow, Brina! That sounds pretty scary and the cover is spooky, too. Your Muse must be doing a great job inspiring you. What’s the next project they’re helping you out on?

Well my Muse being Adele I feel like it should be some angsty break up novel, but instead it’s a short story collection all about horrible dating, and kids throwing stuff. Like poop. Yep it’s a book about poop.

Adele the singer?  My author❤ her. And how cool that you’re writing short stories. They’re perfect for take it anywhere Kindle reading. 

So are you like one of your new poop throwing characters or one of the characters from your Cryptid Tales?

I would like to pretend Shay is the kick butt version of myself, but I’d be lying. However there is definitely a little bit of me in her.

Sssh.  Never admit that you’re not kick butt.  Let it be your mantra: I, Brina Courtney am kickbutt.  Like that, okay?

Now don’t kick my butt over this next question, because nobody likes it. What’s your favorite book of all time?

Harry Potter. I am such a potterhead.

Excellent! And it didn’t even throw you for a sec. Now, in your opinion what makes a guy character swoony-worthy? (in HP for me it was Cedric Diggory)

He respects a woman, for her beauty both in and out. And I was a beauty queen so I feel like I get to say that. And if he has an accent or uniform, major brownie points.

Yep, especially a British accent – like Cedric. Or better yet Prince Harry (not Potter).

Now if you could go to a concert with the uniformed, accented one who respects your inside and outside beauty—yes, we’re talking Heaven—who would you see?

Hmmmm… tough. How about not a rock concert?

Sure, okay.

I think seeing Beethoven play would be pretty epic and life changing. Do I get to come back after?

Back to Earth? Well, no. But it can still be life changing—roll over Beethoven.

Can you imagine that twitpic? “Hey it’s just me with B, we’re bffs now.”

Ha! That would be cool. Hey, anything is possible in Paradise. So, gonna change topics on you.  It’s *drum roll* Confession Time. What’s your biggest writing sin?

I eat, a lot. A lot of chocolate, actually. I need to stop writing, and start walking a bit more. And stop eating. I can tell you right now two of those things won’t happen.

Haha! Great confession. My author does these high-stepping marching things to try to combat writer’s butt and I can’t even tell if it’s working or not.

So, chocoholic isn’t a horribly sinful. Are you more of a rule follower or a rebel?

Rule follower.

Why?

I’m a teacher so I have to enforce the rules and I realize how important they are. Especially for kids, we make rules to keep them safe. They’re important. I am also a goodie goodie.

Hmmm…I’ve never had much success with teachers, or rules for that matter, but I’m a goodie goodie, too.  Now, I’m curious about how you get inspired.  Adele…yes. Chocolate…probably. Exercise…not so much.  What else?

Other books, teenagers, the weather, flowers, my dogs, friends, family, chocolate… cheerleading. A lot of stuff, oh syfy channel, movies, TV shows, music, art.

Ah, so chocolate is a definite.  And, I love your list Brina! Especially that teenagers inspire you, since you’re writing for them.  Ideally, what would you like them to take from your books?

The author’s note in my next novel, Capture, is all about how it’s ok to be different. I’m different and I turned out just fine.

I’m different too and, you’re right, it is 100 percent fine. .

Okay, last question. Is there anything you’d like me to mention to your Guardian Angel? ‘Cause I totally have contacts.

Dude, sweet!

Ummm… yeah, let’s get to work on that whole pony thing. I’ve been asking the big man upstairs about that for a while. He’s related to Santa right? I mean they have to have each other on speed dial by now. K? Thanks!

Sssh…don’t tell, but I recently learned it’s actually the same guy, like the Clark Kent/Superman secret identity thing.  But, anyway, yeah—one pony comin’ up.

Hey there!  Brina’s Cryptid Tales have great reviews on Amazon. Here’s where you can go to check them out.

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Reveal-Cryptid-Tales-ebook/dp/B006MOTN42/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1333508888&sr=8-3

And follow her on the web, especially on Twitter in case she gets that pic of Beethoven.

https://twitter.com/#!/BrinaCourtney

http://www.brinacourtney.blogspot.com/

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13484455-capture

Thanks Brina and thanks Grace.  We’ve only got a few handful of interviews left, so stop back tomorrow for Rachel Donnelly.

May 9, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . author interviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

