An Interview with Danielle Kazemi

Hello!  If you’re stopping here for the first time today, you’re joining us in the middle of an author interview series.  Grace Lightbourne, the main character from my new novel Winging It! Is conducting the interviews in her own—er—unique style. But before I hand it over to her, here’s a little about Danielle’s book Dragon’s Fire.

Annabel Wells is a typical girl. She works at a job she hates and her boyfriend just dumped her. Things couldn’t get worse.

While out, she is attacked by the Unseen – a creature made of pure darkness which kills mortals. When a mysterious hero saves her, she uncovers the world that operates behind the scenes of the normal world. Dragons live among us, disguised as humans.

With the aide of Crispin, Henry, Sera, and Jules, Annabel is protecting herself from another attack. The only problem: how to hide her?

Grace, here’s Danielle.

Danielle, Grace.

Hey Danielle!  That sounds like a pretty scary world for Annabel.  Your Muse must be doing a great job inspiring you. What’s the next project they’re helping you out on?

My Muse is helping guide me towards a fun, action filled urban fantasy more for adults. It will involve pixies, wererats, and of course a minotaur. Then she is getting geared up for helping me start writing Dragon’s Fire once again in the fall. In the summer, when everyone else is relaxing, she is helping me plot out everything and finding any loose ends I forgot. She’s usually great at creating plot twists which keep even me guessing.

It sounds like you have a close relationship with her.  That’s great! So, which of the character’s that she has helped to inspire are you most like?  I hope it’s not Annabel!

I am most like Sera, one of the dragons. I have a streak of bad luck which always seems to follow me wherever I go. Everything can be perfect but the moment I show up, bam. Trouble. I do not have an older brother though so we differ on that. I also can’t shift my hands into claws or shoot fire through my mouth (although sometimes I wish I could).

Aww…I’m sure your luck is not quite as bad as you say.  And if it is, I’m gonna have to have a talk with your GA.  Let’s get this hard question out of the way.  A lot of the authors haven’t been a fan of this one. What’s your favorite book of all time?

This is an incredibly hard question to answer. I love reading

I know, sorry, but you must have one that’s kinda special…  

I am going to say…The Little Princess. Great book and it ends on a high positive note.

Awesome!  I love happy endings. And you know what I’ve noticed? A lot of  happy endings involve swoon-worthy guys. In your opinion what makes a guy character swoony-worthy?

I like smart, funny guys. When there is trouble, they can keep their cool and act like they understand what is going on when in reality they are as clueless as everyone else. It doesn’t matter what he looks like.

As clueless as everyone else – ha! Except I’m pretty sure I’m not clueless…am I?  Maybe we should just move to the next question.  If you could go to a rock concert in Heaven, who would you go see? (*hint* you have to pick someone who is dead)

Hmm…anyone? I want to see a real rock concert. Cavemen banging on rocks, belting out some of their tunes. I think that would be one of those things you could only see in the afterlife.

Funny, Danielle. And very original. That’s real “rock” music.  :D

Now, unfortunately (or maybe fortunately for some) we’ve come to—confession time. Inquiring minds want to know, what’s your biggest writing sin?

I confess – I leave plots open. I hate wrapping up everything because life is never really wrapped up. I have a few plots I leave open so later on I can go through and fill them in. Sometimes it is because I honestly forgot I left it open. There is a lot of writing to do.

Aww…Danielle.  That’s an important truth about life on Earth, and for Angels, too.  In Heaven we say, “There’s always something in the Inbox.”  But you’ve also told me you like happy endings for stories, right? J

 Actually, I’m not sure this is a sin, and I may have a solution. I’m going to have a word with your Muse about this!

Moving on…are you more of a rule follower or a rebel?

I am a goody-two shoes rule follower.

Why?

I tend to go with the flow rather than against it. I think it is because I am concentrating on a dozen different things at once instead of thinking about going against the rules.

Going with the flow is the best reason for following the rules, I’ve heard!  When you’re in “the flow” what inspires you?

I listen to a lot of music. I can get some great inspiration that way. I also use my dreams a lot. When I am completely stumped, I think about it before going to sleep and hope something comes out of that. A lot of times it is a miss but every once in a while, I get something great.

Excellent!  And you know what? My author is a huge music-o-phile. Sometimes that’s how her Muse reaches her. Okay, back to you…music and dreams lead you to what themes?

It is a bit hard to think of themes when writing about dragons roaming the world. I think if there is one theme somewhere in there, it’s that you shouldn’t judge someone based upon their species.

Ha!  That is so true, even with Angels.

I have these knights in my book who are sworn enemies of the dragons but they don’t even know why. It’s just something which has been drilled into them for centuries. I am sure if someone took the time to talk to one another, they might be surprised what they find out.

Verrrry interesting. I❤ that! 

Last question for you.  I’m already talking with your Muse, but is there anything you’d like me to mention to your Guardian Angel?

Just a big thank you. I am sure with my clumsy, bad luck self there has been more than one occasion when she’s had to jump in there at the last minute to save me.  

Oh…I completely forgot that I was having a convo with her about the luck thing.  Sometimes I’m such a ditz.  I’ll pass along the thank you and have no fear, I can be very persuasive. *winks*

So everyone, if you’re into knights and dragons, and a little creeped out by the Unseen, you should check out Danielle’s book here:

Amazon:   http://www.amazon.com/New-Breed-Dragons-Fire-ebook/dp/B005HEZICE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1336041634&sr=8-1

And you can find her other places on line:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DaniWrites

Twitter: @DaniKazemi

Blog: http://daniellekazemi.mywapblog.com

Thanks for stopping by and TGTIF*

Okay, Shel here. And I actually agree with Grace on this. It’s been a busy week and I’m definitely ready to relax, but tomorrow we have the awesome Christiana Miller, so please stop back.

May 3, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . author interviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

