An Interview with Sheila Horgan

My author is multi-tasking this morning, so she asked me to just go ahead and get started. So….

Welcome, Everyone!

Today I’ll be interviewing Sheila Horgan, author of the best-selling Tea Series.  Here’s what readers are saying about these books:

The Tea Series books have homespun messages with likable, relatable characters.

These books are a fun, light great escape that allow you to join O’Flynn family, who will welcome you with open arms.

With more than 70,000 copies sold, they have become a popular fast, fun read and the boxed set of the first four books: Hot Tea, Sweet Tea, Iced Tea and Green Tea, offers four full-length novels that lead serially from one to the next.

And a bit about each book!

Hot Tea – Cara O’Flynn finds herself in an unusual position. She’s quit her job and can afford to take a few weeks to find a new career. Plus her roommate has run off and left her with an empty room to fill. If she can just accomplish those two tasks before her mother finds out she has no income and no one to help pay the bills, she’s in good shape.

The problem – Cara didn’t plan for three careers in as many days, nor did she anticipate the new guys that dropped in her lap. And then there’s her sister Teagan, while always helpful and funny, she can be a bit annoying at times.

When you’re Irish, all things (good and bad) come in threes. It’s inevitable. Cara should have remembered not to forget that part.

Cara and Teagan bring laughter, intelligence and family tradition to every experience they encounter.

Sweet Tea – Cara and Teagan are dealing with wishes come true. The good news is that each of them has found the man of her dreams, unfortunately this is not news easily broken to their traditional mother. Further complicating their lives, they find themselves in the middle of a serial murder investigation; worse still, Cara may have come to the attention of the murderer.

With their lives spinning slightly out of control, some of it good, some of it not, Cara and Teagan depend on each other, humor, their family, and their not so common sense, to keep them going.

Iced Tea – Cara and Teagan are dealing with wishes gone awry. The serial murderer, if there is one, is still out there. The new guys are supportive, as is the family, but there is a limit to how involved Cara and Teagan want the people they love most to be. Knowing there is a serial murderer in your sphere of influence is disorienting. What you do has consequences, but that doesn’t mean you see them in advance.

The crazy cop is around more than ever. There is a wedding to be planned and although Cara has always been the organizer of the family, she’s not even kept in the loop.

Life has been spinning out of control for some time and now it’s up to Cara and Teagan to put it to rights.

Green Tea – Cara and Teagan are more determined than ever, but determination without focus doesn’t get you very far.

There is a wedding just days away. A time to celebrate and enjoy family and tradition, but Cara keeps her distance as situations outside of her control threaten her in ways she is just beginning to recognize.

Cara and Teagan finally get to the bottom of one mystery, only to find another much closer to home.

So Sheila, you already have six books in the Tea Series.  Six! Your Muse is doing a wonderful job inspiring you. What’s the next project they’re helping you out on?

I have several going at once. I’ve written about half of the next book in the Tea Series, Summer Tea. I’ve also taken three of the (mature) women from that series and started another series (the Girls series). Adeline, Anna (Morgan’s great aunt) and Carolyn (A.J.’s grandmother) are all off for an adventure in Las Vegas. Yes, that would be Sin City. I also have a book out called Consequences that is very different than the Tea Series and I’m writing the next in that series, Promises. And in my free time I am writing short stories and another series called The Auntie Series, the first book is Kaitlyn.

It sounds like your Muse is very busy and hmm…I wonder if you should go to Vegas with Sibel Hodge.  For research, y’know?

Okay, which of your characters are you most like?

When I was younger – Cara. Wait, Teagan. Hold on, I’m old now, maybe their mother, Mrs. O’Flynn.

HaHa!  I love that you’re a bit like all of them!  So, what’s your favorite book of all time?

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

Oh, I love that book and I’m not even much of a reader. Now…this next question is a bit different.  In your opinion what makes a guy character swoony-worthy?

 Intelligence. Humor. All the physical stuff will fall into place if he has a good brain and attitude.

Really? Fall into place?  If you say so.  

Let’s imagine for a moment that you could go to a rock concert in Heaven, who would you go see?

A rock concert in Heaven? That explains thunder.

Ha! So true!

Um, I’m not really a big rock fan, but I’d love to see Whitney again. Whole and happy.

She sings like an Angel and I could hook you up with Adriana Ryan on that concert.  When the time comes that is.  The time now is *drum roll* Confession Time! What’s your biggest writing sin?

I’m dyslexic. My issues aren’t as much sins as they are justifiable mistakes. My real sin is in getting so busy doing other things that I don’t sit down to write.

Aww…dyslexia isn’t a sin, Sheila, and I’m sorry to learn about that, but you must be a very determined woman to tackle a career in writing. Kudos to you. 

Now as for the second sin—it sounds a tennsy bit like procrastination, but don’t worry we’re looking at forming a support group.

Next question:  Are you more of a rule follower or a rebel?

Rule follower. I am of the opinion that if the rules is screwed up enough that I can’t bring myself to follow it, I need to put in the effort to change the rule.

I’m writing that down, “work to change bad rules.” Okay, what — other than your Muse, of course — inspires you?

Life. Age. Wisdom. Laughter. Babies. Old people. Nature. I’m easily (a)mused.

I love your list!

And, what themes do you write about or what do you want readers to take from your books.

Life. Age. Wisdom. Laughter. Babies. Old people. Nature…

Ha! And I still love your list!  Final question—is there anything you’d like me to mention to your Guardian Angel? ‘Cause I totally have contacts.

Other than that whole hundred million dollar lottery thing?

You can check with JA Beard for the rules on this.

Well, say hi to my mom. Tell her I miss her every day. My sister too. And thank you whoever is in charge for letting us keep Daddy longer. He’ll be 90 in June.

This answer makes me all squishy inside. It’s the sweetest request yet and I’ve already passed it along. Thanks for stopping by, Sheila.

Hey everyone, you can find Sheila’s books here:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/First-Four-Tea-ebook/dp/B0050JL082/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_7

Or find her around the web:

Twitter: @caraoflynn

Sites: www.SheilaHorgan.com  and www.TheTeaSeries.com

April 27, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . author interviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

