An interview with Marie Symeou

Hello everyone, it’s Monday and Grace has another week of interviews scheduled.  First up is Marie Symeou, singer/songwriter and author of the YA novel Age of Dreams.  Before I turn things over to Grace, here’s a quick description of her book:

A gripping coming of age drama of fame, addiction and love, which takes the reader on a deeply absorbing journey.

It’s the 1980s and Nicola James’ dream of becoming a famous singer has come true. But the pressures of the music industry combined with the emotional baggage from her childhood turn her dream-come-true into a nightmare.

On a soul-searching journey, which takes her to hell and back, Nicola must find a way to conquer her troubled past and decide who she really is, and what to love and being loved truly means.

Hey Grace, stop goofing off, get over here and please interview Marie.

Okay. *huffs* Hi, Marie. Can we talk about your Muse for a sec? What’s the next project they’re helping you out on?

My muse has been great to me lately, and I’m so glad because I had a bad case of writer’s block a few weeks back. I’m now back to working on Book 2 in my vampire trilogy Blood Of The Gods. I’m going to be writing a script in April for ScriptFrenzy and am also working on a cat memoir.

Sounds like she went on an Intermission (that’s what we Angels call vacation).  Glad to hear both you and she are back to work.  Now, are you like any of the characters she helped you create?

I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not, but I am mostly like my character Nicola in Age of Dreams. Since this novel is semi-autobiographical then it’s no surprise really!

Semi-autobiographical means you’re brave! The books about me are like that too, semi-autobiographical that is.  So, is your favorite book based on actual events and if not what is it?  

Wuthering Heights. I just love it. I don’t know why. It’s just so different from other books and also the way the story is told is so original. The language is very deep and emotive, which I love. Some of the references to violence aren’tt so good, but it’s a great novel nonetheless.

What a great romance!  In your opinion what makes a guy character swoony-worthy?

I like a man to have nice eyes that really speak to you – the windows of the soul. Dark hair is great too, though I’m not that fussy about hair color. I prefer longish hair too.

If you ask me – which I know you didn’t – but this guy sounds like Heathcliff.😉 Now I know you’re into music, so if you could go to a rock concert in Heaven, who would you go see? (*hint* you have to pick someone who is dead)

Great question! Elvis Presley and Jim Morrison on lead vocals, Jimi Hendrix on lead guitar, Keith Moon on drums, John Entwistle on bass. I think Janis Joplin should be on vocals too.

That line-up sounds like Heaven!  JA Beard wants to see Jim Morrison and Heidi Hall wants to see Elvis, so maybe they could come with us? (And, BTW, good call on Jimi and Janis)

If we want to get to Heaven that means it’s confession time.  What’s your biggest writing sin?

Sometimes I’m too lazy to write. Description gets me down too. I worry about it constantly. But the thing is, I don’t like over describing things. As a reader I tend to skip long scenes of description because I like to use my imagination, plus it slows down the story.

Psst…that is several sins, Marie.  But since you are so good at confessing, you definitely get to go to Heaven. Now, would you say you are more of a rule follower or a rebel? Why?

I don’t like rules and rules were meant to be broken! For example, there are too many rules about writing that it gets so confusing and can really mess with creativity.

I agree — rules can be a pain! But maybe you’re better than me. I only have four and I still manage to break them.  However…when you don’t follow rules, sometimes inspiration follows.  What, other than your Muse, inspires you?

Music. I am so passionate about it. It evokes all the emotions in me. Nature also helps, but living in the city it’s not so easy to come into contact with (which really depresses me). One day soon I hope to be moving to the country.

You should meet my author Shel Delisle. She’s all about music. I, on the other hand was fleeing Gabriel’s choir when I headed to Earth.

Can you tell me what themes you write about?

My themes are quite dark. In Age of Dreams I deal with family breakups, depression and alcoholism. But it’s not all morbid. It’s a journey of self-discovery. As for my vampire novels, they are actually quite spiritual. Not in the religious sense because I’m not into religion at all, but I do write about the possibility that love is eternal and that there is life after death and reincarnation. I also deal with death and grief, and fate and destiny.

Great themes, especially love is eternal.  Before we finish the interview, is there anything you’d like me to mention to your Guardian Angel?  

Please, Guardian Angel, help me sell enough books to open my own cat sanctuary out in the country! And I’d love a nice house too!

Oh – I think you just told him (or her) and what a nice request!

If you’d like check out Maries’ novel, you can find it here:

 AGE OF DREAMS on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005SE2VMS/?tag=kindleboards-20

To connect with Marie on-line, here are the spots:

Website: http://www.mariesymeou.com/

Blog :http://marie-deepthinker.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Marie-Symeou-Author-Singer/119520001398734

Then, tomorrow I’ll be back with another interview with…um…

*Shel whispering* Cate Dean,  Grace.

Yeah, Cate Dean.  So come back then, everyone.  

April 23, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . author interviews.

One Comment

  1. An Interview with Christiana Miller « s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

    […] picked a lot of the same people as Marie Symeou and there are a bunch who want to see Elvis. The Dead Rockstars Review is an excellent idea. I’m […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

