An Interview with Adriana Ryan

Hi, everyone!

Today marks a week of  interviews and I hope everyone is finding lots of new e-books to read. Today we have Adriana Ryan, who just released Her Heart’s Desire at the end of March. Here’s a little more about her novella:

Millie Fields’s life could be a Greek tragedy. As if frizzy hair and a dead-end job weren’t enough, the heartthrob of her dreams, Graham Lance, doesn’t even know she exists. The only man in her life these days is her best friend Braedon Hill, who seems to have an endless supply of tissues for her equally endless tears. Ironically, Millie is so blinded by her yearning for Graham that she can’t see Braedon’s heart yearns just as keenly for her.

Things become unbearable for Millie when a cruel twist of fate lands her – literally – at Graham’s feet. Utterly humiliated, she flees outside into the pouring rain, the sound of her coworkers’s contemptuous laughter echoing in her ears. As she sits sobbing on a bench, a stranger appears bearing a gift that will transform Millie’s life: A mysterious necklace that will metamorphose her into a ravishing beauty at dusk. Her newfound identity helps Millie finally land the delicious Graham Lance. But as she gets closer to Graham, her relationship with Braedon starts to disintegrate. Will Millie realize all that Braedon has to offer? Or will she choose to live her dream with Graham?

Okay, turning it over to Grace, now.

Hi, Adriana!  Love the love triangle thing!  So, your Muse must be doing a great job inspiring you. What’s the next project they’re helping you out on?

My Muse is rather moody, but I try to keep her happy.🙂

They can get like that.  In my experience, it helps to brown nose a little.   

She’s currently helping me out on an urban fantasy/paranormal series, the first book of which will be released this summer! I’m also simultaneously writing a contemporary romance book. Told ya, she’s moody. I just do as she asks.

Oh, no, she’s not moody!! She’s just not as focused as you’d like.  Moody is more like, “I’ll help you, no, come to think of it I won’t help you.”  That’s much harder to deal with, so I’m glad your Muse is helpful!

So, which of your characters are you most like?

Ooh, tough one! I think there’s a little of me in almost all my characters, bad guys included (dum dum dummmm!). In Her Heart’s Desire, I can definitely identify with Millie’s sense of shyness about her body. However, like her, I think I’m much more confident about it now, having had a few good life lessons!  

Yikes! The bad guy?  Wait one sec….oh my author says the same is true for her.  You writers are an odd bunch!  And you all read too much. Tell me, what’s your favorite book of all time?

Man, you’re full of the tough questions, aren’t ya? Hmm, if I could only pick one, I’d say any of P.G. Wodehouse’s Wooster series. I’m re-reading Right ho, Jeeves right now and it’s hilarious! I’m always laughing out loud in bed, which is a good thing.😀  

You know what I told Kate Avery Ellison about the tough question thing?  I’m not responsible for those.  Not my questions! But the next seems easier for most. In your opinion what makes a guy character swoon-worthy?

Do you want a completely shallow answer or a deeper one?

Both would be super cool!😀

Okay, I’ll give you both–shallow answer: Dark hair and eyes! *Drool* Deep answer: Kindness. *Double drool*

*blots wet mouth with tissue* Yes, both are swoony. Must. Change. The. Subject.  

If you could go to a rock concert in Heaven, who would you go see?

I’d love to hear Whitney Houston perform again, in that rich, beautiful voice she had before she lost her way.

Aww….that’s very nice.  She definitely sings like an angel.

Okay, are you ready Adriana Ryan, because it’s Confession Time (that sounds like a game show, huh?) What’s your biggest writing sin?

Getting carried away! I’m horrible about that. I’ll get so into a character’s life that I’ll start typing out part of his or her story that I know, but a reader doesn’t necessarily need to. In Her Heart’s Desire, I had to cut out parts of Braedon’s life history because, while I love him and wanted him to have his story told, it really didn’t advance the plot any. This is why I am so anal about doing outlines.😀

I can relate. Even though I don’t write or anything, I can get carried away – like literally.  There was this one time when Victor…um, but I digress.  Let’s get back to the interview.  Are you more of a rule follower or a rebel? Why?

I’m an oh-so-boring rule-follower, I’m afraid! I have to have an outline before I write, printed or on-my-phone directions before I drive somewhere new, and a detailed recipe before I cook. I’m very type A about new things. :D 

I’m sorry to hear that.  Perhaps I could show you how to break a few.😀  Then you could tell me what inspires you? 

Other women writers! When I’m stuck on a story, or feeling particularly dull, I like to read interviews with writers whose work I admire. 

That is really, really nice.  If you were an Angel, you might have some Guardian tendencies.  And that’s a lovely way to be inspired.  So what themes do you weave into your stories?

I tend to write about women who lack self-confidence, and then find it through the course of the book. There’s a sense of renewal, of self-appreciation that I hope people will pick up on.

*whispers* I’ve found that when you lack self-confidence, “fake it ’til you make it” can carry you quite far.  Like, I’m not a Full Angel yet, but here we are and you probably thought I was.  Still, I do have some good contacts, which, hey! – can I pass along something to your Guardian for you?

Awesome!! Tell you what, though, it seems my characters need him/her much more than I do. You see, I have a terrible habit of making awful stuff happen to them–bwahaha!!🙂

Ha! That’s funny! Keep on doing all that bad stuff to your characters.  But, I feel obligated to tell you:  on your Guardian – maybe you have a really skilled one?  And you don’t realize everything they do for you?🙂

Adriana, I’m thrilled you stopped today and I hope everyone will go check out your new book on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Her-Hearts-Desire-ebook/dp/B007QDXCHM/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1334505486&sr=1-1

And you can get to know her better in all the virtual places:   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/adrianaryansc

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAdrianaRyan

Website: http://www.adrianaryan.com

After you checked everything out, be sure to stop back tomorrow when Grace interviews the fab-ity chick lit author Heidi Hall!

April 19, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . author interviews.

3 Comments

  1. Adriana Ryan replied:

    Thank you so much for having me, Shel! This was so much fun!🙂

    • s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

      It was a lot of fun, especially when Grace started drooling.😀

      • Adriana Ryan replied:

        Bahahha! Yes, that napkin was pretty soggy.😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

