Music Monday — Adele’s Someone Like You

I was absolutely thrilled to see Adele’s sweep of the Grammy’s last night for a couple reasons.

First, she’s a nice contrast to the antics of singers like Lady Gaga.  The lady admittedly has a lot of talent talent, but she actually distracts us from her music with whatever the the get-up du jour is.  Also, for me, Adele beats the pants off the electronica, auto-tuned sound that is so popular right now.  While it’s great for dancing, is it really music?  Does beat = music?  I’m not sure.

In the end, the main reason I’m happy for Adele’s success is that I love her soulful style of singing.  Chasing Pavements and Rolling in the Deep are beautiful songs, while this one, Someone Like You, gives me goosebumps every single time I listen to it.

It’s remarkable how she can reach our hearts with with one nuance; one note.  And, when I think about what I’d really like to do with my writing, it’d be to create those same kinds of goosebumps for my readers, even if it’s only one line in one book.  Now, that’d be success.

Bravo, Adele. This song, by any standard, is a success.

February 13, 2012. Tags: , , , , , . music.

2 Comments

  1. Leslie replied:

    Isn’t Adele fabulous? You might like this piece on her singing–why it makes us cry, and how that can spill over into writing and other creative endeavors: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203646004577213010291701378.html

    • s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

      Thanks for the link, Leslie! Really, really interesting and it I’m going to think about how I might bring that idea to writing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

