Music Monday — Charlie Brown

There are a couple Christmas songs that evoke clear memories from my childhood.  Wayne Newton’s “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus”  and Burl Ives “Holly Jolly Christmas” — you know the version from Rudolph.  But none are as palpable as this one.

My parents loved this TV special.  They made sure to sit down and watch it with us, and I did the same with my children so we’re in the third generation of love for this music.  In fact, to make sure we can do the dance on any given day, I purchased The Vince Guaraldi’s Trio Charlie Brown Christmas on CD.  That way, I don’t have to wait for the special to come on TV.  Or buy the DVD and wait for this scene to play.  I can listen, and bake cookies, and dance like the twin girls whenever I want.🙂  I might even do a little of that today.

It’ll make me feel like a child again, which is nice when you write for them.  So, what reminds you of Christmas as a child? Is it music?  Or a decoration? A tradition?  Or a scent?  Let me know.

 

December 12, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Meredith replied:

    I’m with you. It’s just not Christmas without Charlie Brown. You can imagine how flipping excited I was when I moved into my current neighborhood three years ago and discovered one of my neighbors recreates A Charlie Brown Christmas on his front lawn every year. Yep. It’s amazing. You should come over and see it.😉

  2. Christy Handkins Evers replied:

    For some reason “all I want for Christmas is my two front teeth” give me vivid memories of sitting in front of my record player in my room and trying to sing it just like they did. I played it over and over and over and over . . .

    Christy
    http://ChristysCreativeSpace.blogspot.com

    :0)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

