Are you a horse or unicorn or dolphin girl?

Recently, I read an NPR article that explained girl power is the reason why so many girls love horses and dolphins and unicorns.   In the article there was a quote by Laurel Braitman, an MIT graduate student in the history of science who writes about animals and what we think about them.  She says girls’ fascination with these animals is more than power — the animals fuel girls’ imaginations.

“Horses and dolphins and unicorns — these are all borderland creatures; gateway animals to other worlds,” she says. “They help us imagine wonderful other ways of being in the world. They let us be cowgirls and oceanographers and mermaids and princesses.”

Apparently, each animal symbolizes how we view relationships and using our power.

Horses: Horses are all about control, about harnessing and taming our masculine energy. About charging forward in the world at a sure-footed pace. Also, horses are loyal, steadfast, and true, qualities that appeal to our relational nature.

Dolphins: Dolphins are sleek and sensitive, about following your instincts and following them quickly. They are constantly pushing or pulling, in tune with the tide. And they live in water, which typically represents emotion.

Unicorns: It’s not all about the horn. Unicorns also represent mystery, spirituality, beauty, hope, uniqueness, and purity. The unicorn is all about what you can become. What has not yet been revealed to you, but what is waiting just around the corner if you believe.

So which one are you?  Or did you give that up when you grew up?

September 2, 2011. Tags: , . dolphin girl.

5 Comments

  1. Kristina Miranda replied:

    I love this Michelle! Although I had a horse when I was a girl and still love them, going by what you said in your post, I’d definately say I’m a unicorn girl. (But I love all three)

    This blog post was fun and inspiring! Here’s to girl power!

  2. Jill replied:

    Oh my god, Michelle. I’m totally obsessed with this post. I’ve been thinking about it non-stop and I think I’m a combo of all three. I mean, one day I’m a unicorn, the next I’m a horse, and the next I’m a dolphin. But if I had to pick the one that appears the most frequently….dolphin, it’s gotta be the dolphin. And what about you? I’m curious to know…:)

  3. s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

    Eenie, meenie.

    I guess dolphins would be my fave. But if the unicorn or horse was a Pegasus at the same time, now that’s a tough call. I do so love the idea of wings!

  4. Meredith replied:

    Oh wow, I love this post!! I have elements of all three, but I think I’m probably a dolphin girl most of all. Emotional? Check. Impulsive? Check. Push and pull? Check.😀

  5. Katrina replied:

    Unicorn. Definitely, Unicorn. My whole life, I think, has been Unicorn.🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

