Music Monday — the first

For me, music and writing are inextricably interwoven.  Music inspires my writing and on rare occasions my muse has played practical jokes on me, giving me a storyline that parallels an existing  song and video so closely that it’s eerie.  It’s happened to me twice.  I (and some of my friends) have  ended up with goose bumps, or rather ostrich bumps.  It’s been that creepy.

I’ll save those stories (and videos) for another day, but with this post I’m introducing Music Monday.  I’m not sure what Music Monday will become.  But I’d like other writers to guest blog about the song that inspired them to write their book.  Or a song that matches their book.  I’d also like to put up music that makes me feel like there is a story embedded in the song.  Sometimes there are songs that feel like they existed before the first time we heard them and for me, Drive by Incubus is one of those songs.  So, I hope you’ll kick back and listen.  Maybe this song will inspire you.  Maybe your muse will show you the story inside.

Oh!  And BTW, I’d love to host any guest bloggers who would like to talk about a song and how it inspired their writing, so if this interests you, give me a holler.   And now I hope you enjoy this song.

August 15, 2011. Tags: , , , , . music, YouTube stuff.

5 Comments

  1. Tara replied:

    You had me at Incubus…I’m a serious & long-time fan. Their stuff inspired my first completed novel (not Drive, though I love that one). Their new album is already quite the muse for my latest WiP. I’m going to their concert in a month. Sure to find some more inspiration there.😉

    All of my writing is inspired by music of all sorts, really. I used to do a Music Monday post on my blog, too, but it fell by the wayside.

    Nice to meet you.🙂

  2. Meredith replied:

    Oh, I love this song. It brings back such memories.

  3. Jill replied:

    I totally agree, Michelle. And you know what? Music and dance in general inspired me to write my book. I’m totally obsessed with music. My life has several themesongs, so why shouldn’t my writing, too? It’s cool to hear someone out there thinks like me! Thanks for posting,

    Jill

  4. kristinamiranda replied:

    Songs are definately a form of story-telling, so it’s understandable why so many novelists love music. I have a couple of songs that fit my WiP, and I also wrote my own song lyrics as part of the book. Music is a great muse!

  5. s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

    So can I convince one (or all!) of you to guest post on a Music Monday about one of those songs that are special to you?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

