TBR Piles

Every serious reader has a TBR pile.  Here’s what mine looks like—

Print Books: 27

e-Books:  63

Of these, around 30 are adult titles and the rest are mostly YA, with a few MG titles sprinkled throughout.  None are for Whatcha’ Reading Now?, which means this number is goin’ up.  Soon.  Very, very soon.

So what’s next?  I’m not 100% sure, but these are the three calling to me:

  1.  Adult – A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan – It won the Pulitzer Prize and I’ve heard it’s not linear, which rocks my world.
  2. YA – The Overtaking by Victorine Lieske – She’s a bestselling indie author and I keep hearing amazing things about her books! Plus this book is sci-fi dystopian-ish, which is right up my alley on favorite types of reads.
  3. MG (or maybe tween) – Savvy by Ingrid Law – This is hardly a new book.  I think it was published in 2008 or 2009.  The first time I heard about it I wanted to read it and have picked it up countless times both at the library and in bookstores.  About a week ago, I finally, finally bought it.  So, now, it’s only a matter of time.

Meanwhile, back at the TBR pile—if I were to read 2 books a week, I’d be set for the next year.  It’s impossible for me to imagine no bookstore visits, no checking out stuff on-line, no library treasure hunts.  I can’t even avoid the very small book section at my local drugstore.  And, while no new books would make my house less cluttered, this won’t happen.   Why?  Because I’m an intense reader, and maybe a little addicted.

Is that a bad thing?

Honestly, I don’t know.  I mean, everyone’s a little addicted to something and there are a lot of things more dangerous than books.  This means my TBR pile will continue to grow, so I’ll check in every so often and let you know what it looks like.

In the meantime, how about you?  What does your TBR pile look like?  If you comment or take the poll, I promise to report on the results in another post.

July 6, 2011. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Susan replied:

    My TBR pile is scary. What’s even more scary is that I’m always adding books to it, lol. I’m addicted!

    God Bless,
    Susan
    author of The Princess and the Pee

  2. s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

    I’m almost finished with The Overtaking, the YA pick in my post, and since I haven’t bought any books this week (yet) the TBR has shrunk!

    @Susan — thanks so much for stopping by.

  3. kristinamiranda replied:

    My TBR pile often contains books that’ve been out a couple of years already, especially if it’s an adult book that takes a backseat to the YA books I want to read. I just finished THE HELP and I’m so glad I did. It was so good and now I’ll be able to see the movie in August because I always insist on reading the book first!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

