Brainy Quote = Inspiration

Years ago my hubby gave me a copy of Bartlett’s Quotations, which I can lose myself in for hours because there are so many wise and thoughtful things said throughout the ages.  It’s tucked onto the “most important” reference shelf on my desk along with my Flip Dictionary. But, the other day, I read a quote on-line about “doing.” I loved what it had to say and instead of reaching for Bartlett’s I stayed on the computer. Using Google, I ended up at brainyquote.com and found out it was attributed to Leonardo daVinci, who definitely had quite a bit of experience in doing.

So, of course I read everything that Leonardo had to say about life, the universe, and everything. Although we can’t meet this genius doesn’t mean we can’t glean something from him in our time. And then I wondered, “What did Michelangelo have to say? Anything quotable?”

Two guys who said a lot of very smart things.

Two guys who said a lot of very smart things.

Because Michelangelo is mentioned and admired by Grace in Winging It! And he’s going to make an appearance in book two and I was mulling over what would happen in that scene. What did the artist think about? Would there be quotes to help me to bring him to life on the page?

So guess what quote popped up first on the site.

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.”

Whoa!

At any rate, he said many other wise and wonderful things, and then I started to wonder if he might say one of these to Grace.

You know what? I think he just might.

February 27, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. kerryomalleycerra replied:

    Wow! Don’t you love it when you unexpectedly find a gem that you know fits perfectly with your book. I get goose bumps when that happens and I have them now. So cool. Can’t wait to see how Grace will reply to him.

    • s h e l d e l i s l e replied:

      It was freaky-deeky, Ker! I truly <3 my muse.
      P.S. That's not the quote I'm going to use, but there are a couple others that could work. :)

  2. Shana Norris replied:

    How awesome! I think having him say one of those wise quotes would make a great conversation and a great impact in the story. :D I love reading quotes like that. I used to write them down in a notebook when I was younger whenever I’d come across one I liked.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

